How to Handle Rejection As An Artist

I sent a lot of music out this past week and I learned something. I sent for 2 main opportunities and they both came back rejected. Matter of fact this…

is how I got my rejections for the loops I made.

As an artist that has been sensitive about his “you know what”, rejection always hurts but something was different this time. I was upset for about half a second, then I sort of just wasn’t. Maybe it’s because I’m sending stuff out more, but I’m starting to appreciate a more honest answer.

I couldv’e got all bent out of shape but i learned to never show emotion. Nobody wants to work with someone who can’t handle criticism. It’s all ego at the end of the day. That’s what’s getting hurt but we don’t have to let that stop us from reaching our goals.

It’s really an opportunity with 2 benefits. I started to realize that this is a chance to become more emotionally resilient. Feel the pain and use it to develop thick skin. If you learn to not fear rejection I can almost guarantee that you will go further than if you don’t learn it.

The 2nd benefit is that feedback is necessary for improvement. When I’m teaching piano I’ll judge what my student played but only so they can improve. I’m not judging them as a person or even them as a piano player. I may say it nicer but remember they are judging the work not you.

On a broader scale rejection can cause a form a suffering and that’s why people avoid situations where they have the possibility of being rejected. Is the point of life not to suffer? Earlier this week I made this tweet:

All of the best things in life are on the other side of suffering. Many of the problems we face are because we are trying to find things that bring happiness as long as theirs no suffering involved. We can find happiness anywhere but problems arise when we avoid suffering for something that would make us happy on the other side.

Tips for dealing with Rejection as an artist:

  1. Remember they are judging the work and not you.

  2. This has 2 benefits for you:

    • Developing emotional resiliency

    • Improving at your craft

  3. Make sure your not avoiding something that would make you happy because of the possibility of rejection.

Remember everyone faces rejection at one point or another in life. The key is how you respond to it. Take a minute to feel the pain, then use it to learn and grow. Your pain is not unique. Many people before you have experienced that same pain of rejection and have fought through it. Many others have felt it and crumbled. Which side will you be on?

If you enjoyed this quick read please consider subscribing. For any of my services please visit www.m3theproducer.com